Shows

New Conservatory Theatre Center v ---

21-22 Season Subscriber Preview

 

We've missed you!

 

On our 40th Anniversary, NCTC is celebrating the return of live theatre with a vibrant season of productions that illuminate love, intimacy, and self-discovery, while continuing to uplift voices in the Queer and Allied community.  We can't wait to welcome you back with a fresh line-up of comedies, dramas, love stories, flights of fantasy, and a special musical event in NCTC's upcoming 21-22 Season.

 

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for supporting our organization during this dark year.  Please note that we will be emailing out your personalized 21-22 Season subscriber packets shortly! 

 


 

 

Jesse Howard’s life looks nothing like it used to. Forced by a national pandemic to return to his childhood home in Kansas with his Conservative parents, he finds himself standing still for the first time. As Jesse battles his writer’s block in a country that no longer feels like home, his mother struggles to reach out to the son she never really knew. Adapted for the stage from NCTC’s critically-acclaimed audio drama, Interlude is a personal and tender snapshot of one man’s search for connection.

 

Interlude

By Harrison David Rivers

World Premiere Commision

Playing Oct 8 - Nov 7, 2021

 

"A must see" - Theatrius

 

"Tender, inventive...a lovely sonic lily" - Bay Area Reporter

 

"It’s easy to recommend" - The Thinking Man's Idiot


“Beautifully written” - Broadway World


 

 

Sex is complicated. Especially if you’ve got a history. When their relationship hits a breaking point, Theo and Cecily look back at their awkward-messy-tender- wonderful-heartbreaking pasts to understand the meaning of true intimacy. There’s no holding back in this provocative exploration of gender, sex, and the risks of being vulnerable with the one you love.

 

Plot Points in Our Sexual Development

By Miranda Rose Hall

Regional Premiere

Playing Nov 12 - Dec 19, 2021

 

“Worthy of praise” - Fordham Observer
“Intensely provocative” - The New York Times
“Deeply revelatory for anyone—which is to say everyone—who has ever tried to figure out themselves, their bodies, their feelings.” - New York Stage Review
“A universal tale of love” - New York Theatre Guide

“Worthy of praise” - Fordham Observer


“Intensely provocative” - The New York Times


“Deeply revelatory for anyone—which is to say everyone—who has ever tried to figure out themselves, their bodies, their feelings.” - New York Stage Review


“A universal tale of love” - New York Theatre Guide 

 


 

 

Beau has spent decades of his life trying to blend into a world that told him to be invisible. Enter Rufus, who lives his life openly and becomes fascinated with the much older Beau. When these two very different men fall into a whirlwind romance, they’re left to navigate a relationship neither expect, but both depend on. Spanning over a decade, Gently Down the Stream is a bittersweet, brilliantly funny romance about being a gay man in the 21st century and finding love along the way.

 

Gently Down the Stream

By Martin Sherman

West Coast Premiere

Playing Dec 3, 2021 - Jan 9, 2022

 

“Tender, funny and unconventional romance” - Variety

 

“Rich in moments of pathos and humor” - Hollywood Reporter

 

“It’s a triumph” - Stage Review UK

 

“A deeply felt gem” - The Arts Desk

 

“Epic sweep of LGBT history” - The Daily Beast

 


 

 

Kai and Julie came to Paris to see the sights, enjoy the food, and maybe learn something about themselves. After a falling out sends them on separate paths, Kai is pulled into an affair with a sophisticated older married couple, while Julie encounters an enigmatic woman deep in a war against herself. Twenty-four hours later, none of these five women are the same. Full of surprises and serendipity, Getting There is an intergenerational meditation on love, aging and solitude


“NCTC gave me the liberty to write the play I was called to write” - Dipika Guha

 

Getting There

By Dipika Guha

World Premiere Commision 

Playing Jan 14 - Feb 20, 2022

 

“Worthy of praise” - Fordham Observer
“Intensely provocative” - The New York Times
“Deeply revelatory for anyone—which is to say everyone—who has ever tried to figure out themselves, their bodies, their feelings.” - New York Stage Review
“A universal tale of love” - New York Theatre Guide

“One of the most exciting up-and-coming playwrights hitting the San Francisco Bay Area stages” - India West

 

“A brilliant playwright” - Playwrights' Center Associate Artistic Director Hayley Finn

 

“I can therefore only look forward to whatever Guha writes next” - London Theatre 1

 


 

 

The Shealys are barely holding it together in this twisted and touching dramedy. Matriarch Dotty is struggling to hold onto her memory, eldest daughter Shelly is looking for an escape route, golden child Donnie and his husband are constantly bickering, and the baby of the family, Averie, has gone from viral sensation to a discount store cashier. Back in their West Philly home for the holidays, one thing’s for sure: the only way they’re getting through this is together.

 

Dot

By Colman Domingo

West Coast Premiere

Mar 4 - Apr 3, 2022

 

"Uproariously funny” - The New York Times

 

“Vibrant and outrageous” - The Huffington Post

 

“Fearless mix of bone-dry humor and warp-speed emotional shifts” - Entertainment Weekly

 

“Touching and hilarious” - Arts ATL


“Full of laughter and heartbreak” - TheaterMania

 


 

 

What if you had the chance to rewrite history? Erik’s world is thrown into free-fall when he’s pulled into a wondrously bizarre time-traveling journey by Agent 701 (aka his now-sentient PrEP pill). Landing into the AIDs epidemic of the 80s, Erik finds himself in a race against history to save a life lost decades ago. From award-winning playwright Yilong Liu comes a contemporary queer fantasia that examines the ghosts of our past and the hopes for our future.


“I think home is somewhere you can let your guard down, somewhere you can be messy, weird, naked (at least emotionally), as quiet as you want, or as loud as you want, somewhere you don't have to pretend or perform, and most importantly, somewhere you feel you belong. NCTC has that sense of intimacy for artists to want to be honest with their work and themselves.” -  Yilong Liu


PrEP Play, or Blue Parachute

By Yilong Liu

World Premiere 

Playing Apr 1 - May 8, 2022

 

“Worthy of praise” - Fordham Observer
“Intensely provocative” - The New York Times
“Deeply revelatory for anyone—which is to say everyone—who has ever tried to figure out themselves, their bodies, their feelings.” - New York Stage Review
“A universal tale of love” - New York Theatre Guide

Named one of 10 contemporary Asian and Paciffic Islander American playwrights you should know - ArtsBoston

 

“Provocative exploration of queerness, and the dangers and joys of nostalgia in an increasing globalized world” - American Theatre Magazine


 

 

We’re 40 and fabulous! Celebrate NCTC’s milestone birthday with a magically melodious performance of iconic numbers from a songbook of over 50 musical productions that have lit up our stage. Featuring hit songs from blockbuster mega-musicals and hidden gems from indie darlings, Encore is sure to be the birthday party of the season.

 

Encore

Curated by Ed Decker and Joe Whict

May 13-June 12, 2022

 

“Every performance—singing, acting, puppetry, dancing—excels. Great talent lives at NCTC.” - Theatrius

 

“Retreat to a safe place where you can laugh ... For LGBT people (and our allies), one of those places is New Conservatory Theatre Center” - Talkin' Broadway

 


YOUR HEALTH & SAFETY

 

The health and safety of our audiences, staff and artists are of the utmost importance and we will make every decision with that in mind. We have put many actions in place to ensure everyone in our theatre is safe including installing air sanitizers, more sanitizing stations, and additional cleaning protocols. If we've learned anything in the last year, it is that the panoply of safety recommendations can shift rapidly and we will continue to shift alongside them as we prepare for opening our doors in October.